One of the most frustrating parts of email advertising is the time and energy it can take to find newsletters to advertise in. As a busy advertiser, you don’t have time to waste looking for newsletters, waiting on media kits, and trying to figure out if it’s even worth it to send a dedicated email ad.
It doesn’t have to be a headache, though—with the right techniques, it can be a breeze to find newsletters to advertise in.
The easiest way to find new publishing partners, of course, is to sign up for Paved. If you’re not ready for that yet, though, here is the step-by-step process you can use to find newsletters quickly and easily.
1. Research Newsletters in Your Niche
While these newsletters are great and certainly have devoted audiences, they often result in a lower return on investment. Why? The audiences for these general newsletters simply aren’t as targeted as they would be if you looked into a smaller, more focused email list.
Think of it this way: if you created a Facebook ad targeting everyone interested in news, how do you think that ad would perform? Unless your product is directly related to the news, it probably wouldn’t have the ROI you look for from your paid campaigns.
Similarly, the more targeted list you choose, the better chance you’ll have of finding an audience that connects with your message and your offer. And that’s an audience that’s likely to convert.
But where do you find these illusive on-topic email newsletters?
A good place to start is by asking around. See if anyone in your office loves a certain newsletter, or devotedly follows a particular blogger. It doesn’t hurt to ask—you never know what people stumble across online.
Then, you can try searching social media. Look on Pinterest for related blog topics, and then check to see if those blogs have email lists. Look on Twitter or Facebook to find influencers in your field and see if they have newsletters. You can even find newsletters to advertise in is by doing a Google search for newsletters in your niche.
Once you land on a promising site, see if there’s a “work with me” or “advertise” page—both are good signs that a publisher includes ads in their email newsletter.
If you use Paved, you can skip all of these steps and turn to the marketplace to find relevant email lists. Just click on your niche to find relevant newsletters you might like to work with.
2. Ask For Media Kits
However you find them, once you find a newsletter you want to work with, you’ll need some additional details before you decide whether a publisher is a good fit for you.
All the details you need will be readily available in a publisher’s media kit. If they don’t have one available on their website, reach out and ask to see one. Publishers get this request all the time, so most will be prepared to share theirs with you quickly.
If you use Paved, you don’t need to ask for a media kit, since all of the relevant information will be on the publisher’s Paved profile.
Once you get a media kit back, you’ll want to look through it for some crucial information. Start by getting a feel for what the newsletter is about, who their readers are, and the kinds of topics they mail about.
You might already have a feel for the email list based on the publisher’s website, but it’s always good to see how they describe themselves in this context. Plus, the media kit may include demographic information that validates or contradicts what you thought about the list audience.
Then, it’s time to get down to numbers. Media kits should always include important email engagement metrics that you need to make a decision, including the number of subscribers on the list, open rates, and click rates.
Many advertisers make the mistake of putting too much focus on list size when finding a newsletter to work with. While list size is worth paying attention to, without great open and click rates, even the largest email list will miss the mark when it comes to ROI.
3. Compare Pricing to Your Other Ad Campaigns
Finally, combine the engagement metrics you found in the publisher’s media kit with the pricing they offer to figure out your potential email advertising ROI.
Dedicated email ad pricing is based on a cost per thousand (CPM) subscribers. This rate is based on the subscribers on a list, not the number that actually open or engage with an email.
While CPM is an important number to know to understand the pricing of a potential campaign, it isn’t always a helpful metric for understanding the ROI of your campaigns. Plus, it isn’t easy to compare ROI across platforms when you’re working with CPM for email and cost per click (CPC) for social or display ads.
Here at Paved, we focus on CPC or even cost of acquisition (CPA), more than CPM. To calculate the potential CPC of a given campaign:
- Multiply the number of subscribers by the publisher’s click rate (20,000 subscribers, with a 10 percent click rate = 2000 clicks expected for a campaign).
- Figure out the total cost for a campaign (20,000 subscribers, with a $25 CPM = $500).
- Divide the total cost of the campaign by the expected clicks ($500 / 2000 clicks = 25 cent CPC).
You can combine that CPC calculation with the conversion rate on your own landing page to get the approximate CPA of a potential campaign:
- Divide the total expected clicks by your landing page conversion rate. (2000 clicks, with a 3% conversion rate = 60 conversions).
- Divide the total cost of the campaign by the expected conversions from the campaign ($500 / 60 conversions = $8.33 CPA).
If you use Paved, you can quickly and easily run these calculations on any publisher profile using our ROI calculator.
It’s easy enough to run these calculations when you’re looking at a prospective newsletter that you may want to work with. Once you know your potential CPC and CPA, you can easily compare that potential publishing partner with other paid acquisition methods you’ve used.
Armed with this knowledge, you’ll be ready to find newsletters to advertise in that not only fit your niche, but will give you the ROI you want, too.
Revamp Your Ad Strategy and Find Newsletters to Advertise In
Now that you’re equipped with the tools to find newsletters to advertise in, you’re able to compare paid acquisition methods, find the deals that work best for you, and, ultimately, try a new method of finding leads.
If you’re ready to simplify the process of finding newsletters to advertise in so you can scale your email advertising strategy, it’s time to try Paved. Not only can you browse our marketplace for relevant publishers, but our all-in-one platform means a cleaned up inbox and all relevant information right at your fingertips. Sign up for Paved today to see how easy email advertising can be.